Best First Year Cadet


Presented to the first-year cadet who shows the most improvement throughout the training year. Their drill, dress and deportment meet or exceed the standard and their positive attitude is an example for their peers.


Nominations for this award may be made by any cadet in their second year or above, members of the squadron staff, or members of the squadron sponsorship committee. The final decision on this award will be made by the staff in consultation with the squadron sponsorship committee and senior cadets. Members of staff, sponsorship committee and cadets who have nominated a cadet shall recuse themselves from the final consideration process if they have submitted a nomination.


The recipient’s name is engraved on a trophy and the recipient shall receive a keeper plaque.

Past Recipients

1977: Cpls H. Mulder and R. Malkowski
1981: Cdt L. Priestly
1982: Cdt T. Risk
1983: Cdt K. Kirk
1984: LAC B. Buczkowski
1985: LAC D. Clare
1986: LAC McCarthy
1987: Cdts A. Morton and L. Yanik
1988: Cdt D. Becker
1989: Cdt M. Palumbo
1990: LAC B. Becker
1991: Cdt D. Howse
1992: Cdt J. Purnell
1993: LAC D. Crowthers
1994: Cdt J. Barburin
1995: Cdt M. France
1996: LAC S. Bilotta
1997: LAC M. Neuhof
1998: LAC J. Cooper
1999: Cdt T. Gallagher
2000: Cdt N. Tureski
2001: LACs S. McDonald and K. Stanclik
2002: Cdt H. Friesen
2003: Cdt M. Thiffault
2004: LAC N. Zapata
2005: LAC A. Dingman
2006: LAC Thompson
2007: Cpl W. MacPherson
2008: Cpl J. Dingman
2009: LAC S. McMullen
2010: LAC E. VanNoort
2011: LACs K. Chikombero and J. Ondrasch
2012: LAC Huisman
2013: LAC A. Simpson
2014: LAC C. Hendriks
2015: LAC Tchamova
2016: LAC S. Abt
2017: LAC T. Fisher
2018: LACs E. Abt and S. Lett
2019: LAC M. Vanderberg
2020: FCpl M. Redeye
2021: LAC J. Klassen and LAC T. Yuditskiy
2022: LAC A. Froese
2023: LAC T. Epp